Mills Kelly

T. Mills Kelly is an Associate Director of the Center for History and New Media and an Associate Professor of History at George Mason University. His new media interests center on the influence of digital media on student learning in history. Those interests have resulted in the co-direction of two NEH-funded education projects: World History Sources and Women in World History. These two projects won the American Historical Association's James Harvey Robinson Award in 2007 for the best teaching resource of the previous two years. He is currently the principle investigator on another NEH-funded education project: Making the History of 1989: The Fall of Communism in Eastern Europe. In recognition of his work on teaching with technology, Professor Kelly was awarded the Commonwealth of Virginia's Outstanding Faculty Award and George Mason University's Teaching Excellence Award in 2005. Since 1999 he has also been a Pew National Fellow with the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching and a fellow with the Visible Knowledge Project based at Georgetown University. From 1998 to 2002, he was the Chair of the Board of Directors of the Civic Education Project, an international NGO working to support higher education and to facilitate the further development of an open society in the countries of the former Soviet bloc.

His conventional historical research focuses on the history of East Central Europe. His first book, Without Remorse: Czech National Socialism in Late-Habsburg Austria investigated the rise of radical nationalism in the Czech lands. His current project is book on the relationship between drinking cultures and radical politics in East Central Europe.

Mills blogs at edwired.

photo of Ken Albers

Ken Albers

Web Developer

photo of Steve Barnes

Steve Barnes

Project Director, Gulag: Many Days, Many Lives

photo of Sheila Brennan

Sheila Brennan

Director of Strategic Initiatives

photo of Megan R. Brett

Megan R. Brett

Digital History Associate

photo of Faolan Cheslack-Postava

Faolan Cheslack-Postava

Zotero Developer

photo of Kevin Clark

Kevin Clark

Affiliated faculty

photo of John Flatness

John Flatness

Web Developer

photo of Miriam Forman-Brunell

Miriam Forman-Brunell

Affiliated faculty

photo of Christopher Hamner

Christopher Hamner

Editor-in-Chief, Papers of the War Department

photo of Julia Hoffer

Julia Hoffer

Grants Administrator

photo of Caroline Kelley

Caroline Kelley

Research Assistant

photo of Mills Kelly

Mills Kelly

Associate Director

photo of Simon Kornblith

Simon Kornblith

Zotero Developer

photo of JooAh Lee

JooAh Lee

Junior Developer

photo of Jannelle Legg

Jannelle Legg

DH Fellow

photo of Sharon Leon

Sharon Leon

Director of Public Projects

photo of James McCartney

James McCartney

Senior Software Developer

photo of Jeff McClurken

Jeff McClurken

Affiliated faculty

photo of Amanda Morton

Amanda Morton

DH Fellow

photo of Abigail Mullen

Abigail Mullen

Project Manager

photo of Patrick Murray-John

Patrick Murray-John

Research Assistant Professor

photo of Kim Nguyen

Kim Nguyen

Web Designer

photo of Mike O'Malley

Mike O'Malley

Associate Director

photo of Megan Ober

Megan Ober

Office Manager

photo of Eric Olson

Eric Olson

Outreach Coordinator, PressForward Project

photo of Anthony Pellegrino

Anthony Pellegrino

Affiliated faculty

photo of Erin Peters Burton

Erin Peters Burton

Affiliated faculty

photo of Paula Petrik

Paula Petrik

Associate Director

photo of Chris Preperato

Chris Preperato

Multimedia Developer

photo of Amanda Regan

Amanda Regan

DH Fellow

photo of Jennifer Rosenfeld

Jennifer Rosenfeld

Associate Director of Educational Projects

photo of Roy Rosenzweig

Roy Rosenzweig

Founder and Director (1950-2007)

photo of Jim Safley

Jim Safley

Software Developer + Metadata Specialist

photo of Roberto Sanchez

Roberto Sanchez

Systems Administrator

photo of Kelly Schrum

Kelly Schrum

Director of Educational Projects

photo of Lynne Schrum

Lynne Schrum

Affiliated faculty

photo of Dan Stillman

Dan Stillman

Zotero Developer

photo of Sean Takats

Sean Takats

Director of Research

photo of Stephanie Westcott

Stephanie Westcott

Research Assistant Professor

photo of Lacey Wilson

Lacey Wilson

DH Fellow